ESHO Merits Award

Since 1999 ESHO presents an award to ESHO members who have served the field of hyperthermia with outstanding merit. To honor these members an ESHO Special Merits Award has been created. The award carries the name of the ESHO and the sponsor of the award

For the very first award ceremony the ESHO board appointed a special award committee to select the awardee. Hereafter all initial committee members were replaced by awardees from previous years and now every year the longest serving committee member is replaced by the latest awardee. The Award Committee is given the strict instruction that it must operate fully independently of the ESHO board and that it should base its choice solely on the contribution of the member to the field of hyperthermia in oncology. That contribution might be fully visible to the field, for instance in case of clinical trials, or technological or biological developments, or could concern achieving important strategic benefits for clinical hyperthermia, for instance in securing reimbursement. Nationality or continent of the winner is irrelevant.

Yearly, the winner of the award is officially announced during the annual conference by presenting a certificate to the awardee and until 2018 a commemorative plaque. In a special Award session the chairperson of the jury (generally the awardee of the previous year) presents a laudation for the awardee, after which the awardee presents an overview of his/her contributions to the hyperthermia field. The award carries the name of ESHO plus the name of the company sponsoring the award. Originally the award was named the ESHO-BSD Award, but this changed in 2016 to ESHO-PYREXAR Award.

Prior to 1999 the ESHO-PYREXAR Award -or before that the Lund Science Award- was given to the first author of the most impressive paper submitted to the International Journal of Hyperthermia. At present the most relevant factor for being selected is that the Awardee has made a significant contribution towards the wider acceptance and use of clinical application of hyperthermia from either a scientific or societal point of view.

From 1999 then the Award has been given to:

Year	Recipient	Discipli ne	National ity	Award Committee President	Member of Award Committee
1999	J. van der Zee	MD			Marchal, Vaupel, Kampinga, Lagendijk, Dahl.
2000	P. Wust	MD		J. van der Zee	Vd Zee, Marchal, Vaupel, Kampinga, Lagendijk, Dahl.

2001	D. Gonzalez-Gonzalez	MD	P. Wust	Wust, Vd Zee, Marchal, Vaupel, Kampinga, Lagendijk, Dahl
2002	R.D. Issels	MD	P. Wust	Wust, Vd Zee, Marchal, Vaupel, Kampinga, Lagendijk, Dahl.
2003	J.J.W. Lagendijk	Phys	R.D. Issels	Issels, Wust, Vd Zee, Marchal, Vaupel, Kampinga, Lagendijk.
2004	P. Vaupel	Biol	J.J.W. Lagendijk	Lagendijk, Issels, Wust, Vd Zee, Marchal, Vaupel, Kampinga.
2005	S. Maluta	MD	P. Vaupel	Vaupel, Lagendijk, Issels, Wust, Vd Zee, Marchal, Kampinga.

2006	R. Felix	MD		S. Maluta	Maluta, Vaupel, Lagendijk, Issels, Wust, Vd Zee, Kampinga.
2007	O. Dahl	MD	#=	S. Maluta	Maluta, Vaupel, Lagendijk, Issels, Wust, Vd Zee, Kampinga.
2008	G.C. van Rhoon	Phys		O. Dahl	Dahl, Maluta, Vaupel, Lagendijk, Issels, Wust, Vd Zee.
2009	MW Dewhirst	Biol		G.C. van Rhoon	V Rhoon, Dahl, Maluta, Vaupel, Lagendijk, Issels, Wust.
2010	A.M.M. Eggermont	MD		MW Dewhirst	Dewhirst, v Rhoon, Dahl, Maluta, Vaupel, Lagendijk, Issels.

2011	M.R.Horsman Pressure Partners Dr. SENERALD PRINCE PRINCE APPENDENCE OF THE PRINCE OF THE PARTNERS APPENDENCE OF THE PARTNERS PRINCE PRINCE P	Biol	+	A.M.M. Eggermont	Eggermont, Dewhirst, v Rhoon, Dahl, Maluta, Vaupel, Lagendijk.
2012	G. Ter Haar	Phys		M.R. Horsman	Horsman, Dewhirst, v Rhoon, Dahl, Maluta, Vaupel, Lagendijk.
2013	R. Wessalowski	MD		G. Ter Haar	Ter Haar, Horsman, Dewhirst, v Rhoon, Dahl, Maluta, Vaupel.
2014	D.B. Leeper	Biol		R. Wessalowski	Wessalowski, Ter Haar, Horsman, Dewhirst, v Rhoon, Dahl, Maluta.
2015	J. Vrba	Phys		D. Leeper	Leeper, Wessalowski, Ter Haar, Horsman, Dewhirst, v Rhoon, Dahl.

2016	S. Bodis	MD	+	J. Vrba	Vrba, Leeper, Wessalowski, Ter Haar, Horsman, Dewhirst, v Rhoon.
2017	T.L.M. ten Hagen	Biol		S. Bodis	Bodis, Vrba, Leeper, Wessalowski, Ter Haar, Horsman, Dewhirst.
2018	J. Crezee	Phys		T.L.M. ten Hagen	ten Hagen, Bodis, Vrba, Leeper, Wessalowski, Ter Haar, Horsman.
2019	L. Lindner	MD		J. Crezee	Crezee, ten Hagen, Bodis, Vrba, Leeper, Wessalowski, Ter Haar.
2020	N.R. Datta	MD	*	Special ESHO-F Initiative of R. Wessalowki a	Pyrexar award and G.C. van Rhoon

2021	H. Grüll	Biol	L. Lindner	Lindner, Crezee, ten Hagen, Bodis, Vrba, Leeper, Wessalowski
2022	C. Diederich	Phys	C. Diederich	Diederich, Lindner, Crezee, ten Hagen, Bodis, Vrba, Leeper